Board of Commissioners

The Skagit Regional Health Board of Commissioners can be reached by calling 360-428-2293 or emailing


Seven publicly elected commissioners serve on the board of Public Hospital District No. 1. The Board of Commissioners make strategic decisions to ensure that Skagit Regional Health is meeting the healthcare needs of the communities we serve.

Your commissioners are:

Headshot of Julie Blazek

Julie Blazek, Board Chair, joined the board in March 2017. A longtime resident of Skagit County, Blazek is a partner in HKP Architects based in Mount Vernon. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Architecture from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning and earned a Design Firm Leadership and Management Certificate from the University of Washington. Blazek is a board member and a past president of the Economic Development Alliance of Skagit County and has served with many local organizations including Skagitonians to Preserve Farmland, Skagit Women’s Alliance Network and the City of Mount Vernon Mainstreet design committee. 



Peter Browning joined the board in January 2016. He has been involved in health care and public health for much of his career, serving as the Skagit County Director of Public Health for 18 years. He currently serves as Chief Executive Officer for the Burlington Chamber of Commerce. Browning holds a Masters in Cultural Anthropology. He has served as past chair of the Washington State Association of Public Health Officials, has been on the YMCA, United Way and Arthritis Foundation boards and is a member of the Skagit Mount Vernon Rotary Club. 


Headshot of Alan Dennis

Frei Burton was appointed to the Board in January 2019.  Burton, a 14-year resident of Mount Vernon, is a graduate of Arizona State University with a Bachelor of Science degree. She has been a member of the Skagit Valley Hospital Foundation Board of Trustees since 2016, is involved with the Conway PTA and has a background in healthcare. Burton and her husband, Ben, are owners of Arrow Insulation, Arrow Conservation and Arrow Electric. 


Headshot of Bruce Lisser

Bruce Lisser of Mount Vernon was appointed to the Board in April 2008. Lisser previously served on the Board of Commissioners from 1996 to 1999. He is the owner and manager of Lisser & Associates, PLLC in Mount Vernon. He is a member of the Skagit-Mount Vernon Rotary Club, is past president of the Mount Vernon Rotary Club and a past board member with the Skagit Valley Hospital Foundation. Lisser is also active with the Washington State University and Skagit Valley College scholarship programs.



Jeffrey Miller, PhD, JD, was appointed to the Board in April, 2011. Miller, a resident of Mount Vernon since 2006, has a career spanning more than 30 years in business and legal experience in biotechnology and internet commerce. He has served as an executive officer with three public companies and as chief executive officer for two private companies. He is an attorney with Perkins Cole, a multinational law firm headquartered in Seattle and is a member of the Board of Directors for Koronis Pharmaceuticals in Seattle, a firm specializing in developing therapeutics for HIV and hepatitis C. He is a volunteer with the Mount Baker Chapter of the American Red Cross and an officer with the Skagit County Amateur Radio Emergency Services group, providing volunteer emergency communications. 


Headshot of Julie Blazek

Dale Ragan joined the board in January 2020. Ragan is a longtime resident of Mount Vernon and has owned Karl’s Paints in Mount Vernon for almost three decades. He has a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and a Master of Business Administration. Ragan has served in a variety of elected offices including the Mount Vernon City Council, from 2002 to 2017 and as a Dike District 17 Commissioner from 2015 to current. He is a longtime member of the Mount Vernon/Skagit Rotary Club and has served on the board of the Mount Vernon Chamber of Commerce and the Skagit Valley Hospital Foundation.


Headshot of Gary Shand

Gary Shand, Board Secretary, was elected to serve on the board in November 2017 and took office in January 2018. A longtime resident of Skagit County, Shand was a community member serving on the Skagit Regional Health Strategic Planning and Transformation Committee for two years before his election to the board. Shand served in the U.S. Air Force and spent 29 years with the Washington State Patrol, followed by nine years with the Skagit County Sheriff’s office. He works part time as the Secretary/Chief Examiner for the Skagit County Civil Service Commission. He is a member of the Skagit-Mount Vernon Rotary Club.