HealthQuest Stories

Show Results For:
Clear Filters

Patient Stories

View All

Subscribe to Our
e-Newsletter

Subscribe

Washington State car seat laws have changed

Feb 19, 2020, 13:37 PM
New car seat law took effect January 2020.

Effective January 2020

Mom adjusting seat belt for infant car seat

Be sure your child is riding correctly in the car!
Visit wacarseats.com for more information.

  • Children up to age 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children ages 2 - 4 years must ride in a car seat with a harness (rear or forward-facing).
  • Children 4 years and older must ride in a car or booster seat until they are 4'9" tall.
  • Children up to age 13 must ride in the back seat when practical.

Manufacture instructions:
A child restraint system must be used according to instructions of the vehicle and child restraint manufacturer.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in each stage of protection for as long as possible. Each transition reduces the protection of the child.


Car Safety Seat Checks Available at Cascade Valley Hospital

Co-sponsored by Safe Kids Northwest

Certified child safety seat technicians will assess your seat for age and size appropriateness, proper installation and use and recalls. This screening is highly recommended for all parents and other caregivers. Learn how to safely install and use your car seat. 

By appointment only, call 360-618-7967 or email tjayne@skagitregionalhealth.org.

Blog

140 posts

Last post : 03/17/2020

Washington State car seat laws have changed

Feb 19, 2020, 13:37 PM
New car seat law took effect January 2020.

Effective January 2020

Mom adjusting seat belt for infant car seat

Be sure your child is riding correctly in the car!
Visit wacarseats.com for more information.

  • Children up to age 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children ages 2 - 4 years must ride in a car seat with a harness (rear or forward-facing).
  • Children 4 years and older must ride in a car or booster seat until they are 4'9" tall.
  • Children up to age 13 must ride in the back seat when practical.

Manufacture instructions:
A child restraint system must be used according to instructions of the vehicle and child restraint manufacturer.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in each stage of protection for as long as possible. Each transition reduces the protection of the child.


Car Safety Seat Checks Available at Cascade Valley Hospital

Co-sponsored by Safe Kids Northwest

Certified child safety seat technicians will assess your seat for age and size appropriateness, proper installation and use and recalls. This screening is highly recommended for all parents and other caregivers. Learn how to safely install and use your car seat. 

By appointment only, call 360-618-7967 or email tjayne@skagitregionalhealth.org.